Posted in Other Stuff

Hello, Bon Jour, Buenos Dias

 Hello, bon jour, buenos dias!

It is a bit late but I thought I would just give a bit of background!
Who am I? Why do I like food? What/who are my influences?

Well… I’m Jose a 20 year old Geography student studying at Manchester. I have just started my first year and I’m living in student self catered halls.

Food very simply is one of the greatest pleasures in life. Food is used to celebrate, commiserate and everything in-between. Food can be used as comfort, treats and most simply as fuel. Food is one of the most important thing in peoples daily lives.

I love food and importantly cooking more than most! This stems from my home life. I know everybody says their mum is a fantastic cook, but my lovely mother really steals the show. Going out to restaurant is some what over rated, as I am used to the quality of her food! She can single handedly prepare an amazing dinner for 20 people without getting stressed and growing up with this attitude to food has made me want to enjoy it. Not for food to be something that has to be done at the end of a long day..

Moving on from my amazing mum, my influences are very varied. Name any T.V chef and I will have an opinion. However, Yotam Ottolenghi, Jamie Oliver, Madhur Jaffrey and trusty Delia Smith seem to be the people I keep returning too.
I am totally rubbish at following a recipe though (apart from with baking!) I love reading a cook book gaining inspiration and adapting the dish to suit my tastes and the contents of my fridge!

I have also been lucky enough to work in the food industry. Shill’s of Cockermouth is my local deli turned wine bar/cafe. I have worked with them at their Saturday girl since I was 15. To be able to learn about cheese, canapés, meats, antipasti, chocolate, wine and have the opportunity to meet suppliers and learn first hand from the experts.

So this is my blog. My dinners mainly, some little food snipbits and anything it interesting and linked to food! I will try as hard as possible to keep the recipes fairly accurate but a lot of the time I wont give quantities. Simply because I have made them up!
I hope you enjoy reading and following and please comment if you have tried a recipes or if you just have a question!
Jose

Author:

The hopeful 'Zoella' of cooking... I'm 22 and currently a final year geography student at the University of Manchester, with a passion for all things food. Hope you enjoying reading my blog and would love it if you get involved! Josephine x https://josephineharrington.wordpress.com/

One thought on “Hello, Bon Jour, Buenos Dias

Leave a Reply

