Posted in Other Stuff

7 reasons why I won’t be detoxing

New Year 2015 formed from sparking digits over black background

Happy new year all! I hope you all had a great time celebrating and getting back into normality isn’t too tricky.

Every year we all wish for happiness and health, pretty good wishes in my opinion. However, the start of a new year also sees the well promoted start of new lifestyles, be it wheat free, detoxing, spinning, juice cleanse, 5:2, the list could go on and on. Now here, let me quickly establish that I have no issues with people trying to make 2015 a healthier year. But here are 7 reasons why I won’t be instagramming my new sugar free breakfasts, becoming friends with you on myfitnesspal or stepping anywhere near a juicer. Life is for people to enjoy, can we all not just do that normally and stop with the January guilt tripping?

1. Detoxing from ‘bad foods’ is a total myth. It is not how the body works, even I know this and I failed biology. Here the lovely people at the guardian explain much better than I could why the only thing you can detox from are drugs and booze, not chocolate: http://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2014/dec/05/detox-myth-health-diet-science-ignorance

2. The obsession with food and fitness for a very concentrated amount of time suggests that being healthy is something that can be picked up and put down. Being healthy is constant and enjoying things in moderation.

3. People already have enough pressures their lives, without feeling that they are somehow failing if they’re not starting a new January health regime.

4. I refuse to buy a juicer and spend money on kale and almond water.

5. January is bloody miserable as it is. Why on earth would you stop eating carbs in the most rubbish month of the year?!

6. I like to look at social media because there are pictures of funny cats, drunk people and interesting political debates. Not to see how great someone I went to primary school with is now feeling because they are sugar free.

7. I’m quite happy with my body. If I do feel like I need to lose a few pounds from the excess turkey I will try to eat a bit less and move a bit more. A mantra that would probably benefit a few people that struggle with maintaining a healthy body, mind or weight. If this simple idea was promoted over detoxing- the perfect antidote to our fast-food, heavy boozing lifestyles people might actually be a little healthier.

Author:

The hopeful 'Zoella' of cooking... I'm 22 and currently a final year geography student at the University of Manchester, with a passion for all things food. Hope you enjoying reading my blog and would love it if you get involved! Josephine x https://josephineharrington.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

